Juno Daily

Music and tech news, interviews, features, reviews and more.

Visit Juno Daily


Studio equipment

Our full range of studio equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.

Visit Juno Studio


DJ equipment

Our full range of DJ equipment from all the leading equipment and software brands. Guaranteed fast delivery and low prices.  Visit Juno DJ

Back Catalogue: Classics/Ska

ホーム  Back Catalogue  

Classics / Ska

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z すべて
Subscribe to our weekly Classics/Ska emails
Country Boy
Country Boy (limited 7")
Cat: DTWS 002. Rel: 09 Mar 20
  1. Jonny De Ambassador - "Country Boy" (4:16)
  2. Krabah Aka Daniele Cesarotti - "Country Dub" (4:14)
Review: Dig This Way Records is back with a second sizzling 7" release, and this time it's a brand new collaboration with Italian-Jamaican label Tebel. It features Jonny De Ambassador and Abeng (Claudio SugarCube) as well as a serious group of musicians. "Country Boy" is well schooled in classic dub and ska, but comes with some slick contemporary flourishes in the form of production techniques and some groggy riffs. The vocals are lazy and louche, the drums cut deep and vibes are pure sunshine. The dub on the flip is even more roomy and horizontal for those lazy afternoons in the park.
Read more
 in stock $16.52
Live Upright
  1. Live Upright (3:26)
  2. Live Upright (version) (3:50)
 in stock $9.97
Cat: BBC 030. Rel: 09 Oct 20
  1. King Horror - "Frankenstein" (2:15)
  2. Winston Grievy - "I Can't Stand It" (2:07)
 in stock $9.41
Obeah Man
Cat: N 613. Rel: 02 Mar 20
  1. Obeah Man (2:44)
  2. Black Magic Woman (take 2) (3:16)
 in stock $20.23
Hold Down
Hold Down (7")
Cat: HSRSS 003. Rel: 26 Jun 20
  1. Hold Down (2:50)
  2. Nice Nice (2:47)
Review: The Kingstonians were a relatively short-lived Jamaican band whose greatest work was produced by Derek Harriott between 1968 and '70. It was at the tail end of this period that they recorded their sole album, "Sufferer", an early reggae classic featuring a swathe of sought-after cuts. It's from that set that these two tracks are taken. For the record, both have appeared on 7" singles before, but are so hard to find that collectors are willing to spend up to 500 Euros to find original copies. A-side "Hold Down" is particularly potent, with the vocal trio's fuzzy vocals rising above a killer early reggae rhythm much in Hammond organ stabs, warm bass and clipped guitars. "Nice, Nice" meanwhile is a more up-tempo affair that gives a little more prominence to a typical early reggae guitar riff. Together the two tracks make for a suitably scintillating package.
Read more
 in stock $14.81
Fun Galore
Cat: DR 1126. Rel: 25 Jun 15
  1. Fun Galore (2:50)
  2. Crime Don't Pay (2:40)
 in stock $11.39
Robber Man
Cat: JAMWAX 19. Rel: 23 Aug 17
  1. Robber Man (3:33)
  2. Robber Man (version) (3:07)
Played by: Osmose
 in stock $10.24
Joy Bells
  1. Augustus Pablo - "Joy Bells" (3:02)
  2. KC White - "Selassie I" (version) (3:00)
 in stock $9.68
21st Century Scorchers
21st Century Scorchers (LP in die-cut sleeve)
Cat: LQ 114. Rel: 19 Jun 19
  1. Rocking On Ridley Road (3:44)
  2. Cuban Missile (2:43)
  3. Skin 2 Skin (3:11)
  4. Reggae Riot (3:08)
  5. Skinhead '69 (2:53)
  6. Gimme Some Juice (3:13)
  7. Riot In London Town (3:09)
  8. Reggae Movement #1 (2:45)
  9. Easy Lovin' (feat Tracy Love) (3:05)
  10. Rise Up Hooligan (3:11)
  11. Monkey Boots (2:56)
  12. Hot Skin Music (3:27)
 in stock $17.96
Punch It!
Punch It! (LP)
Cat: JUUP 142. Rel: 08 Sep 20
  1. Profile Of A New Elite (3:11)
  2. Going A Bit Mad In Our Own Way (2:37)
  3. Breaking My Heart Again (3:48)
  4. It's Quitting Time! (2:26)
  5. Speaking For The Skeptics (3:31)
  6. Taking Back The Ring (3:01)
  7. All Those Wasted Days (2:47)
  8. Drink In Your Head (2:23)
  9. Lesson Learned (2:52)
  10. Grenadine (2:48)
  11. Annabelle (2:42)
  12. To Lose Before You Start (3:00)
 in stock $22.78
Blank (CD)
Cat: CD 004. Rel: 15 Jun 20
  1. Intro (feat Show441)
  2. 64ska
  3. Cold Sugar
  4. Tribute To Master
  5. Sun Sun
  6. Wispy
  7. Skatman
  8. In The Green
  9. Black Magic Woman
  10. Invisible
  11. Weeded
  12. Outro
 in stock $28.77
Surrounded By The Dreads At The National Arena 26th September 1975
  1. I Am, I Am The King
  2. Most High In Dub
  3. Teacher Of Dub
  4. King Of Kings In Dub
  5. Coxson Down Beat (Down Fall)
  6. Unit Dub
  7. Black Harmony
  8. Come On Little Girl, Come On
  9. Second Cut
  10. Ethiopia Land Of My Father
  11. Second Cut
  12. I Will Be Waiting
  13. Second Cut
 in stock $13.96
Sufferer (Expanded Edition)
Cat: DBCD 03. Rel: 07 Sep 17
  1. Your Love
  2. Singer Man
  3. Sufferer
  4. Hold Down
  5. I'll Be Around
  6. Winey Winey (Reggae)
  7. The Clip
  8. Rumble Rumble
  9. Come We Go Moonwalk
  10. Complicated Scene
  11. Easy Ride Reggae (instrumental)
  12. Nice Nice
  13. Kiss A Little Finger
  14. Undertaker's Burial (instrumental)
  15. Splash Down (instrumental)
  16. Sic Him Rover (instrumental)
  17. Right From Wrong
  18. The Bad (instrumental)
  19. Musical Madness (instrumental)
  20. Rumble (version 2 - instrumental)
  21. Barefoot Brigade (instrumental)
  22. Out There
  23. Out There (version 2)
  24. Version From 3
 in stock $10.02
Seke Molenga & Kalo Kawongolo
  1. African Roots (5:14)
  2. Bad Food (3:55)
  3. Muto Ya Motema (7:43)
  4. Mengieb (6:59)
  5. Wakoya (5:35)
  6. Guipimbu Gienu (5:47)
Review: In 1979, dub legend Lee 'Scratch' Perry "adopted" a pair of Congolese musicians who had been left stranded on Jamaica, put them together with his regular session players in the Black Ark studio he later burned down in a fit of psychosis, and recorded an album. As this fine reissue proves (the second in as many months; it was also reissued under the alternative title "Roots From The Congo"), the resultant music - a vibrant mix of Perry's particular brand of dub reggae and soukous music - was not only magical, but also unlike almost anything that had come before. For some reason it was only ever released on small labels in France and Belgium at the time, meaning that original copies are extremely hard to find. This reissue, then, is long overdue. Do yourself a favour and snap them up before they all disappear.
Read more
 in stock $27.06
The Messenger
Cat: GR 235CD. Rel: 23 Aug 19
  1. Stars
  2. That's Real
  3. Sugar
  4. Happy & Merry
  5. Watchful
  6. Prince
  7. Uprising
  8. Smiling Faces
Review: This coming together of two dub and reggae giants might never have been heard had it not been unearthed in some long-forgotten vaults. Originally recorded at some unknown point in the seventies, it follows their debut album Ital Dub, and later King Tubby Meets The Rockers, and is just as vital. Lead by the trademark harmonica expressions of Pablo, with the contagious rhythms of Tubby, it is a free flowing record that explores a number of different moods and grooves from deep and hazy to more life affirming and direct. As a result, it keeps you utterly locked throughout.
Read more
 in stock $11.39
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z すべて


Back Catalogue: Classics/Ska
Release Date